5,348 guests

Crackdown on drugs

  • Written by Efren Montano
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 1600

PNoy orders PDEA to focus campaign vs drug trafficking

President Benigno S. Aquino III issued marching orders to the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) to crack down hard  against drug syndicates in the country.
In his order, the President tasked the PDEA to  conduct an intensified and more focused campaign against drug trafficking anchored on the five pillars of action under the National Drug Program of Action 2015 to 2020.
These include drug supply reduction, drug demand reduction, alternative development, civic awareness and response and regional and international cooperation.
In a meeting held at Malacañan Palace yesterday, President Aquino  said all concerned government agencies should concentrate on preventing the spread of illegal drugs at its source while stopping smuggling and manufacturing activities.
Aquino  said law enforcement agencies should prioritize their actions based on the level of threat to the community in order to protect the welfare of the country especially our youth.
PDEA Director General Arturo Cacdac reported that from 2010 to 2014, a total of 13,792 individuals have been arrested.
Last year, PDEA apprehended over 1,000 high-value targets and charged more than 2,000 drug personalities in various areas in the country.
PDEA would also double its clearing operations at the barangay level and would push for the hiring of more agents to strengthen its law enforcement operations.
In accordance with the President’s directive, Department of Health (DoH) Secretary Janette Garin said the DoH is carrying out the repair, facilities improvement and expansion of drug treatment and rehabilitation centers in the country, for which P393 million is being spent this year while another P400 million will be disbursed in 2016.
The meeting was attended by Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa as well as the members of the Dangerous Drugs Board (DDB) including Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin, Health Secretary Garin, Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima, Social Welfare Secretary Corazon Soliman, Commission on Higher Education Chairperson Patricia Licuanan, DDB Permanent Member Edgar Galvante, National Bureau of Investigation Director Virgilio Mendez, Customs Commissioner Alberto Lina, National Youth Commission Chairperson Gregorio Tingzon and representatives from the Department of Foreign Affairs, Department of Education, Department of Interior and Local Government and the Department of Labor and Employment.