5,344 guests

Duterte wants ex-Davao City police execs in top PNP posts

  • Written by Alfred P. Dalizon
  • Published in Nation
  • Read: 4119

Journal Group sources said President-elect Rodrigo Duterte has asked incoming Philippine National Police director general Chief Supt. Ronald M. dela Rosa to see to it that officers who served in Davao City and helped him build a solid reputation as a “crimebuster” will get plum PNP posts. 

One of them is PRO11 deputy regional director for administration Chief Supt. Aaron N. Aquino, who happens to be a veteran Davao City crimefighter.
At present, the PNP national headquarters is preparing for the “transition process” in the PNP as well as the assumption of command of Dela Rosa vice Marquez.
Sources said Dela Rosa has aired his wish to have a “very simple” turnover ceremony and just a “pick-up” for his official vehicle.
As reported by the Journal Group the other day, Dela Rosa is facing the specter of occupying the top PNP post surrounded by many Peemayers who are his upperclassmen, some of them much younger than him.
At present, many members of PMA Classes 1982, 1983 and 1984 are occupying key PNP positions and are not retiring yet in the next few months or next year.
However, PNP Deputy Chief for Operations Deputy Director Danilo S. Constantino of PMA Class 1982 will retire this July 2.
There are more than a dozen PNP Directors who are not yet retiring this year, including PNP Chief Directorial Staff deputy director Gen. Francisco A. Uyami Jr. (March 19, 2017); Directorate for Personnel and Records Management director Dominador E. Aquino Jr. (Sept. 1 this year); CIDG director Victor P. Deona (December 29); Directorate for Police-Community Relations  director Wilfredo D. Franco (Dec. 15); Directorate for Investigation and Detective Management director Benjamin B. Magalong (Dec. 15); Civil Security Group director Elmer R. Soria (Sept.  4 this year); and Directorate for Integrated Police Operations-Western Mindanao director Noel Lazarus C. Vargas  (Dec. 17).
However, citing “institution above self,” Deona told the Journal Group: “I won’t give Bato dela Rosa the agony of thinking what to do with me as I will tender my resignation as CIDG director as soon as he assume office as PNP chief.”
Deona said he only wants Dela Rosa to allow him to retire on his 56th birthday to enable him to get his full benefits and with the adjusted rank of a Deputy Director General.
There are also members of PMA Class 1983 who are not retiring yet this year --  Directorate for Research and Development  director Rene D. Ong (March 23, 2017); Directorate for Logistics  deputy director Chief Supt. Manuel B. Felix (Dec. 12, 2017); Chief Supt. Prudencio Tom T. Bañas (Dec. 28 this year); and Chief Supt. Jose Erwin T. Villacorte of the PRO 8 (Nov. 29, 2017).
Journal Group sources said many members of PMA Class 1984  and PMA Class 1985 would be a main concern for Dela Rosa, for having been identified as supporters of Roxas, particularly members of PMA Class 1984 of which Roxas is one of their “honorary members.”            
At present, over a dozen PMA Class 1984  members who are occupying key PNP posts are yet to retire late this year and even as far as 2019.
One of them is Directorate for Operations director Jonathan Ferdinand G. Miano (Jan. 30, 2019), making him more than a year younger than Dela Rosa. Others are Directorate for Intelligence  Director Generoso R. Cerbo Jr. (Feb. 12, 2018); Chief Supt. Jose L. Gentiles, who was relieved as officer-in-charge of PRO 10 (Sept. 19, 2018); Directorate for Comptrollership director Danilo S. Pelisco (Oct. 22, 2017); DIPO-Eastern Mindanao director Isagani R. Nerez (Oct. 2 this year);  DIPO-Western Mindanao deputy director Chief Supt. Pierre R. Bucsit (Nov. 24, 2017);
National Capital Region Police Office deputy director Chief Supt. Noli G. Taliño (Jan. 14, 2019); Directorate for Information and Communications Technology  director Napoleon C. Taas (June 20, 2018); PNP-DICTM  executive officer Chief Supt. Gilbert C. Sosa (Aug. 10, 2018); Logistics Support Service  director Chief Supt. Reuben Theodore C. Sindac (Oct. 23 this year); PNP Special Action Force director Moro Virgilio M. Lazo  (Nov. 27, 2017); Chief Supt. Nestor F. Quinsay Jr. of the Police-Community Relations Group (Feb. 25, 2017);  National Capital Region Police Office director Joel D. Pagdilao (Sept. 8, 2018); Chief Supt. Ranier Q. Idio of PRO2 (Oct. 16, 2018); PRO4-A OIC Chief Supt. Ronald V. Santos (Jan. 23, 2017); Chief Supt. Augusto M. Marquez Jr. of the PRO5 (January 16, 2018); Chief Supt. Bernardo A. Diaz of PRO6 (March 17, 2017); Chief Supt. Noel P. Armilla of PRO12 (Nov.  20 this year); Chief Supt. Ronald R. Estilles of the PRO-Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (Oct. 28 this year);  and Chief Supt.
Ulysses J. Abellera of the Cordillera Police Regional Office (July 20, 2017).
Quinsay and Sosa were both assigned in Davao City giving them a huge chance to get quality PNP posts in the future in the wake of Duterte’s pronouncement that he will give priority to officers who served in his city and the rest of Southern Mindanao, sources said.

To be Continued