Home>Sports>Basketball>Aquastars, Voyagers triumph

Aquastars, Voyagers triumph

Vismin Super Cup

TALISAY City-MJAS Zenith Aquastars made it four wins in a row by beating Lapu-Lapu City Heroes-ARQ Builders, 84-75, even as Tabogon Voyagers outsteadied Dumaguete Warriors, 86-78, in the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas Vis-Min Super Cup basketball championship at the Alcantara Sports and Civic Center in Cebu.

Jhaymo Eguilos and Patrick Cabahug combined for 35 points as the Aquastars overcame a slow start and held off the undermanned Heroes for their fourth straight win in the controversy-marred professional tournament.

Eguilos finished with a game0high 18 points, whiel Cabahug added 17 points, including the game-tying three-pointer at 67-all halfway through the payoff period.

Despite missing some of their key players due to the suspensions following their controversial match against the Siquijor Mystics, the Heroes put up a good fight and even led, 67-64, with six minutes left in the fourth quarter.

But a huge 16-2 run by Aquastars, including a three-point play by Eguilos, turned the game around.

In another game, Tabogon went to Joemari Lacastesantos for the much-needed baskets to roll back Dumaguete and improve to 2-2.

Lacastesantos finished with 18 points, nine assists and six rebounds for theVoyagers, who bttled back from a 12-point deficit late in the second quarter to escape with the victory.

Dumaguete dropped to 1-3.

The league will resume on April 20 (Tuesday) with Mandaue-KCS Computer Specialists and Lapu-Lapu-ARQ squaring off at 7 p.m

Talisay and Tabogon clash at 4 p.m.

The scores:

Tabogon (86) — Lacastesantos 18, De Ocampo 15, Delos Reyes 14, Bringas 11, Vitug 8, Sombero 7, Orquina 5, Bersabal 4, Diaz 2, Caballero 2.
Dumaguete (78) –Roy 21, Mantilla 15, Doligon 8, Tomilloso 7, Gabas 6, Nacpil 6, Velasquez 5, Regalado 4, Gonzalgo 4, Aguilar 2, Porlares 0, Ramirez 0.
Quarterscores: 14-23, 35-39, 60-55, 86-78

Second game
Talisay City (84)–Eguilos 18, Cabahug 17, Hubalde 16, Gimpayan 9, Menina 9, Mojica 6, Santos 4, Villafranca 2, Moralde 0, Alvarez 0, Jamon 0.
Lapu-Lapu City (75)– Minguito 13, Regero 12, Cañada 10, Arong 10, Mondragon 9, Berame 8, Abad 4, Solis 0, Igot 0.
Quarterscores: 25-15, 40-39, 55-54, 84-75.