Home>News>Nation>Cayetano and pals to form new independent group

Cayetano and pals to form new independent group

Alan Peter Cayetano
Alan Peter Cayetano

FORMER Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano and six loyal allies are forming an independent group in the House of Representatives.

The BTS sa Kongreso will be launched today by Cayetano and Anakalusugan Rep. Mike Defensor; Laguna Rep. Dan Fernandrez; Batangas Rep. Raneo Abu; Bulacan Rep. Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado; Capiz Rep. Fredenil Castro and Camarines Sur Rep. Lray Villafuerte.

Sources said the Cayetano boys are forming an “independent majority bloc” that will be supportive of President Rodrigo Duterte’s legislative agenda but more critical in scrutinizing Speaker Lord Allan Velasco’s priority measures.

Three months ago, Cayetano was replaced by Velasco as Speaker of the House.

Following the change of leadership, Cayetano allies were also removed from their juicy positions. Abu, Fernandez, Castro and Villafuerte were kicked out from the Deputy Speaker list while Defensor and Alvarado were stripped of major committees.

To satisfy curiosity, the solons will explain why they ended up calling themselves BTS, the name of a popular South Korean Kpop band.