Home>News>World>China ban

China ban

NON-Chinese nationals from the Philippines and three European countries will be temporarily barred from entering China due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In a statement, the Government of China said non-Chinese nationals holding residence permits and visa holders from the Philippines, UK, Belgium, and France will no longer be issued Certified Health Declaration Form by the Chinese Embassies and Consulates abroad.

However, entry by holders of diplomatic, service, courtesy or C visas will not be affected.

“Foreign nationals visiting China for emergency needs may apply for visas at Chinese Embassy or Consulates. Entry by non-Chinese nationals in the Philippines with visas issued after 3 November 2020 will not be affected.”

The suspension is a temporary response necessitated by the current situation of COVID-19, the Philippine Embassy said.

Makati City Pabakuna

The above-mentioned measures will be assessed in accordance with the evolving situation and any adjustment will be announced accordingly, it added.

Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs spokesperson Wang Wenbin explained as the epidemic situation overseas is getting worse, China is facing greater risks of imported cases.

He cited in October the number of imported cases stood at 515, up by 45 percent compared with that in September.

“In the meantime, there were also some domestic cases. Under such circumstances, we have drawn upon other countries’ practices and further strengthened pre-departure prevention and control measures for travelers coming to China, Wang said adding this helps not only preserve the hard-won epidemic containment results in China, but also minimize the risk of cross infection during the travel and safeguard people’s health and security.

Publication Source :    People's Journal