Home>News>Nation>DPWH, NEDA attend meeting of congress committee on flagship programs and projects

DPWH, NEDA attend meeting of congress committee on flagship programs and projects


Key individuals from the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) and National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) attended the special briefing requested by the Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects of the House of Representatives.

Upon instruction of DPWH Secretary Manuel M. Bonoan, Senior Undersecretary Emil K. Sadain on Wednesday, September 7, 2022 provided a briefing to the committee members on the status of the country’s flagship programs and projects.

This came after this new regular committee in the 19th Congress convened for its organizational meeting and adoption of internal rules of procedure physically presided by Senior Vice Chairperson Maria Carmen S. Zamora at Conference Rooms 3 & 4 of RV Mitra Building of Congress in the absence of Chairperson Congressman Claude P. Bautista.

The Committee on Flagship Programs and Projects has jurisdiction over matters directly and principally relating to the identification, prioritization, implementation, monitoring, evaluation and review of highly-strategic infrastructure programs and projects.

Senior Undersecretary Sadain, Chief Implementer of Flagship Projects under the Build Build Build Program in the last eight (8) months of President Rodrigo Duterte administration, provided members of the committee present at the physical meeting and virtually thru zoom videoconference comprehensive information and status of the country’s flagship programs and projects.

Recognizing that the backbone of an economy is its infrastructure, President Ferdinand Romualdez Marcos Jr. has earlier declared in his first State of the Nation Address on July 2022 that the infrastructure program of the Duterte administration must not only continue but, wherever possible, be expanded to keep the momentum.

Under the administration of President Marcos, the government aims to ‘Build Better More’ infrastructure as it intend to prioritize the construction of better farm-to-market roads and supporting irrigation development programs that will enhance agricultural production for food security; development of more roads leading to tourism destinations to facilitate revival, recovery, and resiliency of the tourism industry from the devastating effects of the Covid-19 pandemic; and building of resilient schoolbuildings with comfortable and spacious classrooms towards the delivery of quality education, said Senior Undersecretary Sadain.


Senior Undersecretary Sadain reported that there are about 119 infrastructure flagship projects (IFPs) prioritized as game-changing urgently needed projects of national significance and considered subset of the Build Build Build program, the banner program for accelerating infrastructure development.

Of the 119 IFPs implemented by 17 agencies, 76 are transport and mobility sector, 15 urban development sector, 11 water resources sector, three (3) power and energy sector, 10 information communication technology sector, and four (4) health sector.

Five (5) of the 15 infrastructure flagship projects completed IFPs are under DPWH portfolio namely Bonifacio Global City-Ortigas Center Link Road Project; Binondo-Intramuros Bridge and Estrella-Pantaleon Bridge under China grant bridges; improvement of remaining sections along Pasig River from Delpan Bridge to Napindan Channel; programme for the support to rehabilitation and reconstruction of Marawi City and its surrounding areas; and flood risk management project (FRIMP) in Cagayan, Tagoloan, and Imus Rivers.

In addition to completed IFPs are two (2) projects partially open or turnover for operation at the end of June 2022 with people now reaping the project benefits including the Samar Pacific Coastal Road Project in Eastern Visayas and Malitubog – Maridagao Irrigation Project – Stage 2 in municipalities in Province of Cotabato and Maguindanao while 10 more projects will be completed towards end of the year 2022.

The meeting livestreamed on the official facebook page of the House of Representatives was attended physically by Congressman Nelson L. Dayanghirang, Congressman Joseph S. Tan, and Committee Secretary Ms. Cristina S. Sulaik.

Other attendees are NEDA Assistant Secretary Roderick M. Planta; DPWH Assistant Secretary Constante A.

Llanes Jr.; DPWH Project Directors Ramon A. Arriola III, Benjamin A. Bautista, Sharif Madsmo H. Hasim, and Rodrigo I. Delos Reyes, DPWH Director Randy R. Del Rosario, and NEDA OIC-Director Aldwin U. Urbina.

Journal Online
A collection of noteworthy information on various topics from the Philippines and the rest of the world.