Home>News>Nation>Mayor unscathed in roadside blast

Mayor unscathed in roadside blast

The bullet-riddled vehicle which was among among those in Mayor Reynalbert Insular’s convoy of relief workers that was ambushed by still unidentified gunmen in South Upi, Maguindanao on Sunday afternoon (Jan. 3, 2021). Photo courtesy of South Upi LGU, PNA

1 killed, 4 hurt in ambush

THE mayor of South Upi, Maguindanao was unscathed in a roadside bombing that killed one person and injured four others around 2 p.m. Sunday, a Philippine National Police report said yesterday.

PNP chief, General Debold M. Sinas said a province-wide manhunt is already underway for the suspects involved in the attack on the convoy of South Upi Mayor Reynalbert Insular.

An investigation showed the mayor’s convoy was passing at the vicinity of Barangays Pandan and Pilar in South Upi when the suspects detonated a powerful improvised explosive device that hit the lead vehicle.

Sinas said the mayor was unhurt in the attack.

Makati City Pabakuna

Insular and his companions were immediately evacuated to a safer place by responding members of the South Upi Municipal Police Station and the Army’s 57th Infantry Battalion.

Killed in the explosion was 28-year old Thelmo Sase, a resident of Bgy. Itaw in the same municipality. Wounee were John Tumbaga, 30, of Sitio Linamas in nearby Bgy. Romongaob; Sase’s relative Christian,22; and Ernesto Debang,53; and Leonard Betita, both residents of Bgy. Pilar.

The motive and identities of the suspects are still being investigated by the local police as of press time.

Publication Source :    People's Tonight
Alfred P. Dalizon
Author of the ‘Mamang Pulis’ series and Crame Files | A Journal Group reporter since 1988 and recipient of dozens of national awards from the PNP/DILG/PDEA/DDB/NAPOLCOM and the private sector | Winner of two (2) prestigious Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA) for Best Investigative Report | A Finalist for another CMMA Best Investigative Report | A 3-time Journal Group Employee and Top Reporter of the Year