Home>News>Metro>Metro Manila has 1st female police chief

Metro Manila has 1st female police chief

METRO Manila now has its 1st ever female police chief after National Capital Region Police Office (NCRPO) director, Major General Debold M. Sinas installed Colonel Angela Q. Rejano as the new Malabon City Police Station chief.

Also the 1st female chief of police in Sorsogon City and the 1st female director of the Siquijor Police Provincial Office, Rejano replaced Col. Jessie Tamayao who is now assigned at the NCRPO headquarters.

Malabon City Mayor Antolin ‘LenLen’ Oreta III welcomed Sinas’ move to designate a policewoman as the city police chief citing her vast experience and qualification.

Rejano was the erstwhile chief of the NCRPO Regional Plans and Strategy Management Division before getting her new post. She also wrote history as the 1st female training director of the Regional Training Center 5 in Bicol region under the National Police Training Institute.

Makati City Pabakuna

As Malabon City police chief, Rejano will be commanding over 500 policemen tasked to maintain peace and order and enforce the law in 21 Malabon barangays with nearly a 380,000 population.

Malabon is a highly-urbanized city known for its dense population.

Sinas said the designation of Rejano is part of his ongoing efforts to recognize ‘women power’ in the Metro Manila police force where female police officers are known for their large contribution to different innovative programs he has initiated.

“I strongly believe that women have distinct abilities and capabilities, similar to what men are capable of, and thus, I encourage the people of Malabon to give your full trust and cooperation to your new chief of police in her venture,” Sinas said.

Publication Source :    People's Tonight
Alfred P. Dalizon
Author of the ‘Mamang Pulis’ series and Crame Files | A Journal Group reporter since 1988 and recipient of dozens of national awards from the PNP/DILG/PDEA/DDB/NAPOLCOM and the private sector | Winner of two (2) prestigious Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA) for Best Investigative Report | A Finalist for another CMMA Best Investigative Report | A 3-time Journal Group Employee and Top Reporter of the Year