PTCFORs suspended in 3 areas during SEAG

November 16, 2019

ALL Permit-to-Carry-Firearms-Outside-of-Residence (PTCFORs) issued to licensed gunholders in Metro Manila, Calabarzon and Central Luzon regions and the whole of La Union province will be suspended from November 20 to December 14 as part of the massive security preparations for the 30th SEA Games to be hosted by the country, Philippine National Police officials announced yesterday.

National Capital Region Police Office 4-A director, Brigadier General Debold M. Sinas, Police Regional Office 3 director, Brig. Gen. Rhodel O. Sermonia and Police Regional Office 4-A director, Brig. Gen. Vicente D. Danao Jr. recommended the suspension of all PTCFORs in the three regions during the the 30th SEA Games and approved by PNP Officer-in-Charge, Lieutenant Gen. Archie Francisco F. Gamboa.

PRO1 director, Brig. Gen. Joel S. Orduña also recommended the same in the entire La Union province which will also be the venue of some SEA Games events.

During the SEA Games, only members of the PNP, the Armed Forces and other Law Enforcement Agencies who are performing official duties and in Agency-prescribed uniforms and participants to the 30th SEA Games 2019 shooting competition shall be allowed to carry firearms.

“This is part of the security preparations to ensure that the activities will be free from firearm-related incidents and to ensure the safety of the populace as well as the local and foreign athletes,” said Gen. Gamboa.

The PNP-OIC said the directive shall be implemented in consonance with the concept of Managing Police Operations in close coordination with the AFP, other LEAs and local government units.

Gen. Gamboa also ordered concerned police commanders to make an assessment on the impact of the suspension of PTCFORs in their areas in relation to the maintenance of peace and order in their areas of responsibilities.

The PNP-OIC said that a total of 20,000 personnel from different government agencies will be fielded to provide security and safety services to over 10,000 athletes from different Southeast Asian countries set to participate in the 2019 SEA Games to be hosted by the country.

The athletes and other sports officials from Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Thailand, Timor Leste, Singapore, Vietnam and host Philippines will participate in  56 events.

The competition venues are spread in 23 cities across the country and divided into four clusters in Metro Manila, Clark, Subic and Olongapo.

This year’s edition is most notable for being the first to include e-sports and obstacle course as well as having the highest number of sports events in the history of the games at 56.