25 airports get go signal to operate

FINALLY, the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP)  allowed the other day some 25 airports in the country to operate commercial flights after local government units (LGUs) gave the go-signal to local air carriers.

CAAP spokesman Eric Apolonio yesterday confirmed that the 25 airports allowed to operate are Romblon Airport, Naga Airport, Manila International Airport, Clark International Airport, Cauayan Airport, Palanan Airport, Laguindingan Airport, Dipolog Airport, Pagadian Airport, Jolo Airport, Borongan Airport, Antique Airport, Masbate Airport, Mactan-Cebu International Airport, Cotobato Airport, Zamboanga Airport, Davao International Airport, General Santos Airport, Puerto Princesa International Airport, Tacloban Aireport, Legaspi Airport, Ormoc Airport Catbalogan Airport, San Jose Airport and Catarman Airport.

Apolonio said seven other airports are not yet allowed to open set date. These are Basco Airport [July 1, 2020], together with Virac Airport, Butuan Airport, Surigao Airport [August], Siargao Airport [September 1], San Vicente Airport [July 1], Busuanga Airport [July 1]. 

CAAP said 17 more airports are not yet allowed to operate: Dumaguete Airport, Maasim Airport, Hilongos Airport, Guiuan Airport, Sanga-Sanga Airport, Ozamiz Airport, Bohol Panglao International Airport, Marinduque Airport, Bacolod-Silay Airport, Kaliba International Airport, Roxas Airport, Caticlan Airport, Calbayog Airport, Laoag International Airport, Tuguegaro Airport, Camiguin Airport and Iloilo Airport.

For their part, Cebu Pacific (CEB) said that their international flights are all canceled for the month of June and July, according to Corporate Director Charo Lagamon.
Philippine Airlines carried out four repatriation flights to bring home stranded Filipinos were mostly ship crews: PR 8102 Manila-Los Angeles-Barbados-Vancouver, PR 8117 Vancouver-Clark-Manila, PR 725 Bombay-Manila and a regular flight PR 111 Guam- Manila.

PAL and PALEX held 18 domestic flights from Manila to Cebu, Bacold, Pagadian, Davao, and Tacloban.