DFA: Foreigners not allowed in more than 10 countries

THE Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) yesterday advised Filipinos traveling out and returning to the Philippines to refer to the travel guides before buying tickets as more than ten countries across the Americas, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Middle East and Africa still do not allow entry of foreign nationals.

"With new updates from more than 10 countries across the Americas, Asia & the Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, the DFA encourages all Filipinos traveling out from and returning to the PH to refer and be guided by the following Travel Restrictions as of 28 Jun 2020.," an advisory issued by the DFA reads.

This, despite the traveler having valid visas or confirmed flights.

The DFA advised travelers should consult with relevant embassies or consulates of the destination country and ports of transit before booking tickets.

"It is always best to check ahead of travel dates with the airlines that will be used for departure," it said.

Among the destinations frequented by Filipino travelers that are still close for foreign nationals are: Canada, Australia, Brunei, China, South Korea, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Macau, Thailand, Taiwan, Vietnam, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark,  Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and Vatican.