New members, allies boost Lakas

September 03, 2019
Martin Romualdez and Yedda Marie K. Romualdez
Lakas-CMD Party officers and members led by its President and House Majority Leader Martin Romualdez (3rd left), VP for Luzon and Deputy Majority Leader Rep. Mikey Arroyo (2nd left) Capiz Rep. Fredenil Castro (2nd right) and Pangasinan Rep. Christopher De Venecia (3rd left) welcome their new allies from Party-Lists led by Tingog Party-List Rep. Yedda Marie K. Romualdez (4th left), Alona Party-List Rep. Ana Marie Villaraza-Suarez (4th right), Ako Bicol Rep. Alfredo Garbin Jr. (right) and Alagaan Natin Ating Kalusugan Rep. Mike Defensor (left). Romualdez, Suarez, Garbin and Defensor signed the Declaration of Alliance for Unity and Progress with the party-list lawmakers pledging to support Lakas-CMD Party. Photo by Ver Noveno

THE Lakas-CMD in the House of Representatives welcomed two new members and five party-list allies.

House Majority Leader and Lakas President Martin Romualdez announced that Deputy Majority Leader and Zamboanga Sibugay Rep. Wilter “Sharky” Wee Palma II and Catanduanes Rep. Hector Sanchez have joined the party.

Meanwhile five party-list lawmakers have signed an agreement as allies of the Lakas.

“Lakas-CMD is open for new members and we will continue to strengthen our political influence nationwide,” Romualdez said, adding that it is normal for any political party to solidify and work on building its dominance.

Lakas-CMD officials and members led by Deputy Majority Leader and Pampanga Rep. Juan Miguel “Mikey” Arroyo, the party Vice President for Luzon, witnessed the event held at former President and Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo’s residence at La Vista Subdivision in Quezon City.

Palma, a former member of Partido Demokratiko Pilipino–Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban), cited the Lakas-CMD’s reform, concrete achievements and proven capacity to lead the political arena for his decision to join the party.

“I feel at home here, especially with the competent leadership of House Majority Leader Romualdez,” Palma said.

For his part, Sanchez, an independent ex-governor who was a former member of then Lakas-National Union of Christian Democrats (Lakas-NUCD) more than two decades ago, cited Lakas-CMD’s “coherent and workable” leadership of Romualdez for its members in returning to his previous political party.

Also on Monday night, Tingog party-list Rep. Yedda Marie Kittilstvedt Romualdez, Anakalusugan party-list Rep. Mike Defensor, Ako Bisaya party-list Rep. Sonny “SL” Lagon, Ako Bicol party-list Rep. Alfredo Garbin, and Alona party-list Rep. Ana Marie Villaraza-Suarez were declared “Lakas-CMD allies” after signing the “Declaration of Alliance for Unity and Progress” with the party to further solidify their support for` the legislative agenda of President Rodrigo “Rody” Duterte and Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano.

“We are Lakas-CMD allies with shared objectives to support the President’s programs and his legislative agenda as well as that of the House leadership under Speaker Alan Peter Cayetano,” Defensor said.

For his part Lagon said: “We will continue to work on achieving the national development and reform agenda which will enhance the quality of life of our people.”

From only two members during the recently concluded 17th Congress, Lakas-CMD has now 13 members and five allies in the House of Representatives.