Pinoys abroad delisted as voters urged to re-register

December 07, 2019

THE Department of Foreign Affairs-Overseas Voting Secretariat (DFA-OVS) has urged overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) who failed to vote in the 2016 and 2019 elections to re-register to be able to exercise their right to suffrage in the 2022 Presidential Elections.

The advice was issued after the Commission on Elections (Comelec) deactivated 578,185 overseas voters for failing to participate in the 2016 and 2019 National and Local Elections.

OFWs, as well as immigrants, seafarers, and students who are about to leave for abroad, and who are not yet registered overseas voters, may register from 16 December 2019 to 30 September 2021 at the following locations:

Any Philippine Embassy, Consulate General, Mission, or Manila Economic and Cultural Office (MECO), or Overseas Voter Registration Centers designated by Comelec.

All Filipino citizens who expect to be abroad from 09 April to 09 May 2022 during the overseas voting period for the 2022 Presidential Elections, and are at least 18 years old on 09 May 2022 and not otherwise disqualified by law, may register as an overseas voter.

DFA figures show there were more than 1.8 million overseas Filipino voters in the 2016 presidential elections.