Retirement of PNP top official triggers revamp

October 08, 2019

THE retirement this Saturday of Lieutenant General Fernando H. Mendez Jr., the secondhighest official of the Philippine National Police, will trigger a major reshuffle of key PNP positions, the Journal Group was told.

Mendez will be retiring as PNP Deputy Chief for Administration (DCA) after more than 37 years of outstanding service in the defunct Philippine Constabulary and later the PNP.

A classmate from Philippine Military Academy “Sinagtala” Class of 1986 of PNP chief General Oscar D. Albayalde, Mendez is a well-rounded police officer who was meritoriously promoted thrice -- to Police Chief Inspector or Major, to Police Superintendent or Lieutenant Colonel, and to Police Senior Superintendent or Colonel -- due to his outstanding accomplishments in the field of intelligence where he helped send to jail scores of ‘Enemies of the State’ including New People’s Army rebels and terrorists.

The retirement of Mendez will automatically trigger a “domino effect” in the PNP hierarchy with two of his classmates set to get a higher position automatically.

PNP Deputy Chief for Operations (DCO), Lt. Gen. Archie Francisco F. Gamboa will be named as the new PNP-DCA while PNP Chief Directorial Staff Lt. Gen. Camilo Pancratius P. Cascolan will become the PNP-DCO.

The two, however, are among the top candidates to replace  Albayalde who will be marking his 56th birthday on November 8.

In the event one of them is chosen by President Rodrigo Duterte as Albayalde’s successor, another major PNP reorganization would be effected.

Meanwhile, there are several 2-star police generals or Major Generals who are in the race for the position of PNP-TCDS, the PNP’s  fourth highest position. They are being considered since they still have more than a year left in the service and would qualify for promotion to the next higher rank. The PNP law bars the promotion of any police official who has less than a year in service.

Members of PMA Class 1986 who are qualified for the position are PNP Director for Comptrollership Maj. Gen. Jose Maria Victor DF Ramos (retiring November 25, 2020); and PNP Director for Research and Development Maj. Gen. Reynaldo G. Biay (retiring November 9, 2020).

Members of PMA “Hinirang” Class of 1987 who are qualified for the same position are National Capital Region Police Office director Maj. Gen. Guillermo Lorenzo T. Eleazar (retiring November 13, 2021); Maj. Gen. Cesar Hawthorne R. Binag of the Directorate for Information Communications and Technology Management (April 24, 2021); Maj. Gen. Amando Clifton B. Empiso of the Special Action Force (February 6, 2021); and Maj. Gen. Jonas B. Calleja of the Directorate for Plans (January 3, 2021).