13 more rebels surrender

December 10, 2019

POLICE Regional Office 12 director,Brigadier General Alfred S. Corpus yesterday announced the surrender of another 13 members of the New People’s Army following negotiations with police and military intelligence officers last Monday.

The official said that the 13 are all members of the NPA’s Filed Southern Mindanao Regional Committee’s Yumil Platoon South based in the mountainous areas of Barangay Sapu Masla in Malapatan, Sarangani.

In a report to Philippine National Police Officer-in-Charge, Lieutenant General Archie Francisco F. Gamboa, the PRO12 director said that the 13 turned themselves over to officials of the Malapatan Municipal Police Station, the  Sarangani Police Provincial Office and the Army’s 73rd Infantry Battalion.  

The 13 were identified as Baguil, Jun, Jessie, Willie and Jamie Dawang, Marwin Londong, Yano, Rayson and Mario Yaran,Loreno Tayal alias ‘Ka Lawin,’ Jimmy Dalama, Reynie Balandan and Markes Londong.

Corpus said that the 13 also surrendered one M-16 automatic rifle, one Springfield rifle and one M-79 grenade launcher with three live ammunition.

“The said persons decided to surrender due to extreme anxiety and psychological pressure as a result of an all-out military and police combat operation against NPA insurgents in the region,” the official said.  

Last October 10, a ranking NPA officer identified as Nicano Claro Pason, the subject of seven warrants of arrest for murder, frustrated murder, rebellion, kidnapping and serious illegal detention and three of his companions were arrested by policemen manning a checkpoint in Maitum, Sarangani.