Home>News>Provincial>PBBM: Gov’t prioritizing dev’t of 2 newly created Maguindanao Provinces

PBBM: Gov’t prioritizing dev’t of 2 newly created Maguindanao Provinces

Malacañang Palace Logo

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. said Friday his administration is prioritizing the development of the newly created provinces of Maguindanao del Sur and Maguindanao del Norte.

This, as he expressed gladness that his administration managed to find a solution to the problems facing the two new entities.

During the oath-taking of the officials from the two provinces, President Marcos assured them that they can count on the national government’s support particularly during the transition period.

“So asahan ninyo na ang national government, ay kami naman talaga ay malaking priority sa amin, malaking bagay sa amin na ito’y maging maayos dahil makakapagdala na tayo ng development sa iba’t ibang lugar na kung dati ay hindi pa natin nagawa, ngayon ay magagawa na natin and that is why this is so important to give because this is a grand opportunity,” the President said.

“And that is why it is of high priority that all of these be a success. You can count on us, you can count on me. And I think that we know each other well enough that we can trust each other to be in partnership with the success of both our new provinces.”

The chief executive acknowledged few birthing pains that the two provinces may experience but with the cooperation, understanding, and compromise that the officials have displayed, there will be two strong functioning provinces borne out of Maguindanao province.

The current challenge, the President said, is how to organize the two provinces well so that the division of the province of Maguindanao will turn out to be to the benefit of both new provinces.

Expressing optimism, President Marcos said: “Although we are presently still in transition, I think that we have an opportunity to make that transition most advantageous to all of us because ang maganda siguro, masasabi natin kapag may bagong probinsya, may bagong constituency, may bagong LGU.”

Among those who were appointed and sworn in by the President Friday were Maguindanao del Norte Governor Abdulraop Abdul Macasena, Vice Gov. Fatima Ainee Limbona Sinsuat, board members Armando Mastura, Mashur Ampatuan Biruar, Datu Rommel Seismundo Sinsuat, Alexa Ashley Tomawis, and Aldulnasser Maliga Abas.

The Maguindanao del Sur officials who took their oath of office were Gov. Mariam Sangki Mangudadatu, Vice Gov. Nathaniel Sangacala Midtimbang, board members Bobby Bondula Midtimbang, Ahmil Hussein Macapendeg, Yussef Abubakar Musali Paglas, Alonto Montamal Baghulit, and Taharudin Nul Mlor.

In May 2021, former President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signed into law Republic Act No. (RA) 11550, dividing the province of Maguindanao into two distinct and independent provinces known as Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur. | PND

Journal Online
A collection of noteworthy information on various topics from the Philippines and the rest of the world.