Home>Sports>Other Sports>PCAP, GAB to honor GM Torre

PCAP, GAB to honor GM Torre

Eugene Torre
Torre: First GAB pro chess license.

THE achievements of Asia’s first GM Eugene Torre will be further immortalized when the Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) and the Games and Amusements Board (GAB) pay a special tribute to him in a virtual ceremony at the GAB office in Makati on Wednesday.

PCAP, headed by fouding president-commissioner Atty. Paul Elauria, and GAB, headed by Chairman Abraham “Baham” Mitra will present Torre a symbolic Professional Chess License in honor of his numerous contributions to chess.

This is only one way of honoring Torre’s many contributions to both local and international chess,” said Elauria, who is taking the initiative to organize the first-ever professional chess league in the country through PCAP.

Mitra said this will be the first time that GAB will award a Professional License to a chess player.

It is only fitting that the first-ever pro chess license will be given to Torre, who has done a lot to Philippine chess,” said Mitra.

Elauria and Mitra will lead top sports personalities invited to deliver messages for Torre.

Also expected to deliver messages of congratulations to Torre via the 10 a.m. Zoom conference are National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) executive director Atty. Cliburn Anthony Orbe, GAB commissioners

Eduard Trinidad and Mario Masanguid and GAB Pro Games Division chief Dioscoro Bautista.

Makati City Pabakuna

Well-known sports columnist Bill Velasco and Kara Mallonga will serve as the event hosts.

Meanwhile, Atty. Elauria said players wishing to play in the PCAP First Conference next year have until only Friday, Nov. 20 to register.

The PCAP team drawing of lots is scheduled on Nov. 21, while the first official draft is set on Dec. 12.

The negotiation for players’ contract is scheduled from Nov 21 to Dec 11, according to Atty. Elauria.

Application for license with GAB is set from Dec. 13-Jan. 8.

The formal start of the PCAP season is Jan. 12.

To date, a total of 22 teams, divided into two conferences, have confirmed their participation in the inaugural PCAP season.

The teams are:
North — Antipolo, Cabuyao, Cagayan, Caloocan, General Trias, Isabela, Manila, Olongapo, Pasig, Rizal and San Juan.
South — Camarines, Cordova, Iloilo, Iriga, Lapu-Lapu, Mindoro, Negros, Palawan, Surigao, Toledo and Zamboanga.

Publication Source :    People's Tonight
Ed Andaya
Sports Editor - People's Tonight