Home>News>Nation>Romualdez couple, Solons honor Revilla Sr.

Romualdez couple, Solons honor Revilla Sr.

Martin Romualdez and Bong Revilla Jr.
House Majority Leader and Lakas-CMD Party President Rep. Martin Romualdez (right), his wife Tingog Party List Rep. Yedda Marie K. Romualdez (inset) and 22 other Lawmakers have endorsed the late Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr., father of Lakas-CMD Party Chairman and Senator Bong Revilla Jr (left) for the National Artist Award for Film. Photo by VER NOVENO

Endorses late solon for National Artist Award for Film

HOUSE Majority Leader and Leyte Rep. Martin Romualdez, Tingog party-list Rep. Yedda Marie Romualdez and 22 other lawmakers have endorsed the late Sen. Ramon Revilla Sr. for the National Artist Award for Film.

The lawmakers filed House Resolution (HR) 1176 expressing the sense of the 300-strong House of Representatives to include Revilla, father of Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr., in the roster of awardees.

They cited that the popular action star’s immense contributions to the Philippine culture and arts, particularly to the country’s entertainment industry “should not go unrecognized.”

“Ramon Revilla Sr. is a renowned entertainment icon, actor, producer, writer and director, and a public servant. Through the years, he has contributed immensely in the development of Philippine art,” they said.

“His movies depicted not only the Filipino way of life, but also our unique culture and strong ideas,” they said.

Other authors of HR 1176 are Quezon Rep. Aleta Suarez, Negros Occidental Rep. Marilou Arroyo, Deputy Speaker and Surigao del Sur Rep. Prospero “Butch” Pichay Jr., Lanao del Sur Rep. Yasser Balindong, Zamboanga del Sur Rep. Leonardo “Jun” Babasa, Capiz Rep. Fredenil Castro, Southern Leyte Rep. Roger “Oging” Mercado, Lapu-Lapu City Rep. Paz Radaza, Bataan Rep. Geraldine Roman, Catanduanes Rep. Hector Sanchez, Pangasinan Rep. Christopher De Venecia, AKO Bicol party-list Reps. Elizalde Co and Alfredo Garbin Jr., Ako Bisaya party-list Rep. Sonny Lagon, Ako Padayon Pilipino party-list Rep. Adriano Ebcas, CWS party-list Rep. Romeo Momo Sr., GP party-list Rep. Joe Gay Padernos, PHILRECA party-list Rep. Presley de Jesus, RECOBODA party-list Rep. Godofredo Guya, TGP party-list Rep. Jose Teves, Ang Probinsyano party-list Rep. Alfred Delos Santos, APEC party-list Rep. Sergio Dagooc.

Martin Romualdez and Bong Revilla Jr.
House Majority Leader and Lakas-CMD Party President Rep. Martin Romualdez (right) and Senator Bong Revilla Jr. (left)

Issued in 1972, Proclamation No. 1001 created the National Artist Award, which is jointly administered by the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CPP) and the National Commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA) and conferred by the President of the Philippines The Order of the National Artists is the highest honor conferred to Filipino artists who have made distinct contributions to the fields of literature, music, dance, theater, visual arts, film, broadcast arts, fashion design and architecture and the arts.

Makati City Pabakuna

Lawmakers noted that the nominations for National Artist are based on the following criteria, as set forth by the CCP and the NCCA:

  • Living artists who are Filipino citizens at the time of the nomination, as well as those who died after the establishment of the award in 1972, but were Filipino citizens at the time of their death;
  • Artists who through the content and form of their works have contributed in building a Filipino sense of nationhood;
  • Artists who pioneered in a mode of creative expression or style, thus earning distinction and making an impact on succeeding generations of artists;
  • Artists who have created a substantial and significant body of workers and/or consistently displayed excellence in the practice of their art form thus enriching artistic expression or style; and
  • Artists who enjoy broad acceptance through prestigious national and/or international recognition, critical acclaim and/or reviews of their works, and respect and esteem from peers.

The authors of resolution are mostly members and allies of the Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (CMD) led by Majority Leader Martin Romualdez as President and Sen. Bong Revilla as chairman.

They took note that Revilla Sr. received several notable awards, which include FAMAS Best Actor award in 1973, Outstanding Producer Award in 1976, Most Outstanding Actor in 1979, and Box Office King.

They also cited that the former senator also received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Catholic Mass Media in 2011 and on July 1 this year, he was conferred with the Sino-Phil Asia International Peace Award for Performing Arts.

“Senator Ramon Revilla Sr.’s contribution to Philippine society in general and to the Philippine entertainment in particular should not go unrecognized as he is a genuine gem who has contributed much to the proliferation and appreciation of the arts in our country,” they said.

Some of the notable films he made were Nardong Putik: Kilabot ng Cavite, Pepeng Agimat: Sa Daigdig ng Kababalaghan, and Hulihin si Tiagong Akyat.

“Senator Ramon Revilla, Sr is an embodiment of talent, intelligence, artistry that makes him befitting of the title of National Artist,” the lawmakers said.

Publication Source :    People's Tonight