Home>Sports>Basketball>Scribes honor PBA teams with President’s Award

Scribes honor PBA teams with President’s Award


DESPITE the challenging times, PBA teams made sure to remain committed to their players and personnel as far as duties and obligations are concerned.

The all-out support of the 12 ballclubs eventually led to the successful staging of the Philippine Cup bubble in Clark, Pampanga that aborted disaster with the possible cancellation of the league’s 45th season.

For their financial sacrifices and deep love for the game, the PBA Press Corps will be honoring all member teams of Asia’s pioneering pro league with the President’s Award in its virtual Awards Night set on March 7 at the TV5 Media Center.

The ‘Heroic 12’ is composed of Barangay Ginebra, TnT Tropang Giga, Meralco, Phoenix, San Miguel, Alaska, Magnolia, Rain or Shine, NLEX, Blackwater, NorthPort, and Terrafirma.

Together, they will share the limelight with Bulakan, Bulacan Mayor and 1995 MVP Vergel Meneses, the 2019 Presidential awardee of the group that covers the PBA beat.

The hour-long program presented by Cignal TV, will be hosted by Rizza Diaz and Carlo Pamintuan. It will be shown on PBA Rush on March 8.

Two major awards will be announced, namely Outstanding Coach of the Bubble and Mr. Executive, leading to the awards rite.

Aside from the President’s Award, previously named were Justin Chua (Top Bubble D-Fender), Calvin Abueva, Chris Ross, Mark Barroca, Christian Standhardinger, and Chua (All Bubble D-Fenders), RJ Jazul (Mr. Quality Minutes), CJ Perez (Scoring Champion) Barangay Ginebra-Meralco Game 5 semis (Game of the Bubble) and the quintet of Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona, and Renzo Subido (All-Rookie Team).

Meanwhile, aside from Meneses, other major awardees from the 2019 season will be recognized in Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year Leo Austria of San Miguel, Danny Floro Executive of the Year PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas, and Defensive Player of the Year Sean Anthony.