Home>Editorial>Opinion>Sinas cites gains in drive vs most wanted persons

Sinas cites gains in drive vs most wanted persons

PHILIPPINE National Police (PNP) chief, General Debold M. Sinas yesterday cited significant gains in their campaign against most wanted persons in the country specifically those involved in drug trafficking and terrorism over the past three months.

From November 10, 2020 to February 4, 2021, PNP operatives have hauled to jail a total of 16 Top Most Wanted Persons or those carrying monetary rewards for information which will lead to their arrest.

Top performers in the drive against most wanted men in the country were the PNP Intelligence Group (PNP-IG) headed by Colonel Warren F. de Leon, the PNP Anti-Kidnapping Group (PNP-AKG) headed by Brigadier Gen. Jonnel C. Estomo, the PNP Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (PNP-CIDG) headed by Major Gen. Albert Ignatius D. Ferro, the PNP Drug Enforcement Group headed ((PNP-DEG) by Brig. Gen. Ronald O. Lee and the PNP Highway Patrol Group (PNP-HPG) headed by Brig. Gen. Alexander C. Tagum.

Among those captured during the period were Marcel Tejero alias ‘Loloy Tejero,’ the subject of a P1.2 million bounty who was arrested last January 15; Marcos Requina, the subject of a P2 million reward until he was caught last November 12; and Alfredo Mapano alias ‘Pares,’ the subject of a P5.3 million reward who was collared last November 27.

A 4th identified as Alvin Luque alias ‘Joaquin Jacinto/Joaquin Cordero,’ the subject of a P6 million bounty offered by the Department of National Defense and Department of Interior and Local Government was killed in an encounter with the police last December 10.

Requina, Mapano and Luque were identified as leaders of the New People’s Army while Tejero was described as the no. 1 most wanted person in Caraga region where he is facing charges for three counts of murder, three counts of destructive arson, grave threats, grave coercion and robbery with violence against or intimidation of persons.

Sinas said that during the past three months, PNP operatives across the country arrested a total of 20,801 persons wanted for various crimes.

Out of this number, 17,889 were wanted persons, 2,912 of them included in the list of MWPs. Seventy-one others were killed in gunfights with arresting officers.

“I’m just doing what I promised the President and the Filipino people. In my term I will drastically reduce crime, corruption and illegal drugs and we will intensify our manhunt operations on most wanted persons who are fugitives from justice and continue to pose threats to peace and order in our country,” said Sinas.

Since Nov. 10, 2020, the PNP-IG has launched a series of ‘intelligence-driven’ operations which led to the capture of some of the country’s most elusive criminals and terrorists.

Arrested by De Leon’s men were criminals who were the subject of warrants of arrest for murder, robbery-holdup, rape, violation of Republic Act 9165 or the Comprehensive Dangerous Drugs Act of 2002 and car theft as well as NPA rebels and Abu Sayyaf terrorists who have been wanted by the law for their involvement in atrocities in the countryside.

The National Capital Region Police Office headed by Major Gen. Vicente D. Danao Jr. and the rest of the 16 other police regional offices also have their own share in the PNP’s success in accounting for most wanted persons in their jurisdiction.

Last Friday, agents of the NCRPO Regional Special Operations Group headed by Lieutenant Col. Melvin Montante and Major Arnel Bautista captured a most wanted person in Eastern Visayas who was found working in a water refilling station in Taguig City.

Danao said suspect Rowegie Anlio, a 32-year old employee of the Aquatic Dragon Water Refilling Station in Bgy. Central Bicutan, Taguig City turned out to be wanted for murder and carnapping in Region 8.

Anlio was arrested on the strength of a warrant of arrest for murder and violation of Republic Act 6539 or the Anti-Carnapping Law issued by Judge Eligio Petilla of the Tacloban City Regional Trial Court Branch 44 on August 8 and September 11, 2014 respectively.