Home>Sports>Other Sports>Sports Hall of Fame awardees to get extra cash incentives
Other Sports

Sports Hall of Fame awardees to get extra cash incentives

hall of fame

THE Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), headed by Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez, is raising the cash incentives to the Filipino sports heroes who will be inducted in the fourth Philippine Sports Hall of Fame.

PSHOF secretariat head Anna Christine Abellana said the increase — from P100,000 to P200,000 — will help the awardees during these trying times amind the COVID-19 pandemic.

We have increased the amount of the token because of the needs in these times,” said Abellana during the PSC Hour program of the Radyo Pilipinas Dos last Friday.

As what our selection committee said, we are honoring people who have already retired. Some of them are regularly taking medicine,” added Abellana.

Ten outstanding Filipino athletes who excelled from 1924 to 1994 will be enshrined to the fourth batch of Philippine Sports Hall of Fame.

In all, a total of 44 legendary athletes from various sports were nominated and the 16-man screening and review committee chaired by Chairman Ramirez has started to pruned down the list.

Among the leading automatic nominees this year are Olympics medallists Leopoldo Serrantes (boxing), Roel Velasco (boxing), Stephen Fernandez (taekwondo), Arianne Cerdena (bowling), and Dionisio Calvo (basketball).

The review committee is expected to submit a short list of nominees on March 5 before the selection committee led by Ramirez will make the final selection.

The other members of the Selection Committee are Games and Amusements Board (GAB) Chairman Abraham Mitra, Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) Secretary-General Atty. Edwin Gastanes, Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines Secretary-General Atty. Avelino Sumagui, University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Executive Director Atty. Rene Saguisag Jr., and Philippine Olympians Association President Akiko Thomson Guevara

The Review and Evaluation Comittee is comprised of Joaquin Henson of Philippine Star, Eduardo Andaya of Peoples Tonight, Lorenzo Lomibao Jr. of Business Mirror, Eriberto Talao of Manila Bulletin, Eduardo Catacutan Jr. of Spin.ph, Jose Antonio of People’s Journal, Reynaldo Bancod of Daily Tribune, and Prof. Theresa Jazmines of the UP College of Mass Communication.

We asked for the expertise of our notable sports media friends to form the review and evaluation committee, for they are the timekeepers of Philippine sports, and have covered the many great achievements of our Filipino athletes,” said Ramirez.

By virtue of Republic Act No. 8757 or the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Act, the highest sports award-giving body has enshrined Filipino athletes, coaches, and trainers who made valuable contributions in Philippine sports since its first induction in 2010.

Among the past recipients of the award were Asia’s first chess grandmaster Eugene Torre, Asia’s fastest woman Lydia de Vega, World Cup champions Rafael “Paeng” Nepomuceno, Lita de la Rosa and Olivia “Bong” Coo, basketball great Ambrosio Padilla, boxing champions Gabriel “Flash” Elorde and Erbito Salavarria, golf idol Ben Arda and baseball/softball legend Filomeno “Boy”Codinera.