El Nido to host kiteboarding

January 11, 2019

EL NIDO, Palawan --  Despite the absence  of 2018 Summer Youth Olympic Games silver medalist Christian Tio and former Philippine champion Ken Nacor, the second leg of the International Container Terminal Service,  Inc (ICTSI)  Philippine Kiteboarding Tour Season 6  is expected to  be  intense and exciting starting today.

Thirty-five  local and foreign  kiteboarders, including Swedish ace Atte Kappel and his Filipina wife Jing Gajisan,  are taking part in this prestigious competition to be held in Sibaltan.

Kappel, a regular campaigner in the ICTSI circuit and  winner of the second leg of the ICTSI Philippine Kiteboarding Tour Season 5 held in Sta. Fe, Bantayan Island, Cebu exactly a year ago, will be the top favorite along with local bets  Doque  delos  Santos, Bong  Fernando and MJ Cahilig.

The local and foreign  participants will  compete for the title  and the cash prizes of  US$40,000 and US$10,000 worth of equipment from Cabrinha.

Notably absent in the three-day event sponsored by Kite Club Palawan, Pukka Bar, Balay  Cuyonon  Eco Lodge, Cafe Ranchos, Petal Travel and Tours, Carmelita Homestay, Printhub, Piopio, Dive Sibaltan, Ursula Beach Club, Floresita Beach Resort, Headware and Tribu is Tio.

Tio, who rose to prominence by winning the men’s kiteboarding  silver medal in the 2018 Youth  Olympic Games in Buenos Aires, Argentina last October, made his  presence felt by  bagging two titles in the first leg held in  Bulalacao, Mindoro last Dec.1-3.     

Tio won over  Remel  Rentillo and MJ Cahilig in the final of the men’s Twin Tip course racing.

The 17-year-old  Filipino-Norwergian from  Boracay, who learned the sport from his  parents —  both  professional kiteboarders — also won over  kiteboarding legend Ken Nacor and Cahilig in freestyle.

Sharing the limelight  during the first leg in Mindoro was  Kathrin Borgwardt  of Germany, who topped both the Twin Tip Course Racing and  Hangtime.

Kara  Leongson  finished second, while Jing Gajisan  wound up third in Twin Tip Course Racing.

In Hangtime. Ali Dudfield  finished second , while  Franziska Limmer came in third.

Other winners were  Kappel, who won the Master Division Twin Tip Course Racing and  Men’s Hangtime;  Dudfield, who clinched  first place in the Ladies Freestyle against  Borgwardt and Limmer; and Joyce Manahan, who  ruled  the Ladies Novice division .

The  event is organized  by the   Philippine Kiteboarding Association (PKA), headed by  President Jay Ortiz and  sponsored  by International Container Terminal Services Inc. (ICTSI).    

Supervising officials for the event are Mars Gerbach (Competition Director), Andy Curnow (Race Director), Joanne Santos (Tour Organizer), Hendrik Ven de Perre  (Head  Judge), Ryan Cahilig (Freestyle Judge/ Race  Marshal),  Reo Mendoza (Rescue Marshal), Jack  Agrabio (Event Marshall) and  Joe Tindog (Event Runner).

After  El Nido,  Palawan,  the series  moves to  Lakawon  Island  for the  third leg  on  Feb.15-17, and  Boracay Island for  the fourth leg on March 1-3.