Leading ladies take over

July 11, 2020
Frayna, Fronda and Mordido
Frayna, Fronda and Mordido: Leading ladies.

THE leading ladies of Philippine chess have agreed to represent the country in the first-ever FIDE Online Olympiad scheduled July 22-Aug. 30.

WGM Janelle Mae Frayna and reigning national women's champion WIM Jan Jodilyn Fronda will be the two regular female players in the six-player mixed team online rapid tournament being introduced by FIDE due to the coronavirus pandemic.

WIM Catherine Pereña Secopito and WIM Bernadette Galas will be the reserves.

“The members of the Women Olympic team have decided to settle the matter of who will play in the FIDE Online Olympiad by discussion and agreement rather than by playoff,” said National Chess Federation of the Philippines (NCFP) executive director Atty. Cliburn Orbe.

“Frayna and Fronda will be the regular players, while Secopito and Galas will be the reserves,” added Orbe.

WIM Kylen Joy Mordido, who topped the recent grand final of the Asian Junior Championship qualifier, will be the lone girl player (20 years old and under) in the team.

Frayna, Fronda and Mordido will join two male and one junior player (20-under).

The playoffs for the two men and one junior players in the national team will be played on Saturday and Sunday.

Newly-crowned Pichay Birthday Cup “Battle of GMs” rapid chess champion GM Mark Paragua and runner-up GM Rogelio Antonio, Jr. will banner the six-player men's field.

Joining them are United States-based GM Rogelio Barcenilla Jr., who topped the tegular "Battle of GMs" last November, GM Darwin Layl and IMs Paulo Bersamina and Haridas Pascua.

The top two players will earn the right to represent the country in the Online Olympiad, while the next two players will take thecreserve slots.

The bottom two will be eliminated.

In the junior division, IM John Marvin Miciano, IM Daniel Quizon, FM Alekhine Nouri, IM-elect Michaeljako Concio, Jr., IM-elect Eric Labog, and Chester Neil Reyes willalso play a double-round robin tournament.

The reserve slot for girl will be decided in a playoff among WIM Allaney Jia Doroy, WFM Jerlyn San Diego, Bea Mendoza, WNM Gerrliou Mhage Sebastian.

The four players finished behind WIM Mordido in the Grand Final of the Asian Junior Championship qualifier.

Based on tournament format designed by FIDE, each participating country will be composed of six players, in a mixed format with a minimum of three female players and two junior players.

Specifically, each team must include:

--at least one player U-20 (born in 2000 or later)

–at least two women

--at least one girl U-20 (born in 2000 or later).

The teams may have up to six reserves, plus a team captain.

The event will  consist of two main stages: the Divisions stage  and the Playoffs stage, from Round of 16 to the final.

All the teams-participants will be divided into 5 divisions ranked from Base Division to Top Division.

The top 15  teams of the Base Division will then join 35 seeded registered teams, which are  ranked  higher than teams in the Base Division.

Two more Division tournaments will be  played before the 15 qualified teams join the top five seded teams going into the playoff  stage all the way to the grand final.

Deadline for submission of team lineups is July 13.