Strikers beat Caloocan, cop Metro League crown

June 30, 2019

Bacoor Strike sa Serbisyo pulled off a 67-60 win over Caloocan-Gerry’s Grill to clinch the Metro League Reinforced (2nd) Conference title on Saturday at the Strike Gym in Bacoor City, Cavite.

Mark Montuano and Mark Pangilinan sparked the Strikers’ scorching run in the fourth quarter on their way to taking the victory during their winner-take-all game 3.

It was a near-perfect championship run for Bacoor in this import-flavored conference, sweeping the South Division and only losing in Game 2 of the best-of-three finals.

The Strikers finished with just one loss in 14 outings in the tourney sponsored by Synergy 88, World Balance, Excellent Noodles and San Miguel Corporation.

The Caviteño team, though, was denied of a double crown as Caloocan-Arceegee earlier downed the undermanned Bacoor City Agimat, 59-50, to rule the 17-&-under division.

Montuano fired a game-high 18 points, including seven markers in the crucial final frame, while Pangilinan sank three triples in the fourth en route to a 11-point production.

Down 43-47 heading to the last canto, Montuano and Pangilinan ignited a 19-5 blast to push Bacoor ahead, 62-52, with 3:34 remaining in the game.

Caloocan came back and closed within 60-64 behind Robbie Darang and Abdoulaye Niang but Eric Acuña sank two ice-cold free throws with 14 seconds left to seal the Strikers’ title-clinching win.

King Descamento, named Reinforced (2nd) Conference Most Valuable Player, also played huge with double-double of 13 points and 13 rebounds while Best Import Prince Orizu also tallied a double-double, finishing with 11 markers and 13 boards for Bacoor.

Darang had a team-best 13 points, Niang had 12 markers to go with 17 rebounds even as Johnnel Rey Bauzon and Reynaldo De Mesa had 11 points apiece in the sorry loss for the Supremos.

Earlier, a different story unfolded as U17 MVP John Sherick Estrada carried Caloocan-Arceegee to a victory over the shorthanded Bacoor City Agimat for the silverware in the 17U-&-under division of M-League that is also supported by Gerry’s Grill, Summit Water, Alcoplus, Nature’s Spring and Goodfellow.

Estrada uncorked 17 points, including a three-point play that handed the Junior Supremos a 56-47 lead with 1:54 remaining in the game and virtually secured the result. (JBU)

17 and under Finals Game 3

Caloocan-Arceegee (59) – Estrada 17, Gazzingan 12, Pancho 10, El-Hag 9, Santos 5, Gines 2, Principe 2, Valencia 2, Bustria 0  

Bacoor City Agimat (50) – Gutierrez 10, Porcadas 10, Aranilla 9, Melencio 8, Pecho 6, Rocha 4, Torno 3, Bautista 0, Buhay 0, Cornand 0, Corrales 0

Quarterscores: 9-15, 23-31, 42-37, 59-50  

Reinforced Finals Game 3

Bacoor Strike sa Serbisyo (67) – Montuano 18, Descamento 13, Orizu 11, Pangilinan 11, Miranda 6, Acuna 4, Malabag 3, Ochea 1, Aquino 0  

Caloocan-Gerry’s Grill (60) – Darang 13, Niang 12, Bauzon 11, De Mesa 11, Brutas 7, Enriquez 6, De Leon 0, Tay 0

Quarterscores: 15-19, 29-28, 43-47, 67-60