Home>Sports>Other Sports>Sweet revenge for San Juan

Sweet revenge for San Juan


SAN JUAN Predators exacted sweet revenge over erstwhile tormentor Caloocan Load Manna Knights, posting a convincing 14.5-6.5 victory in the 2021 Professional Chess Association of the Philippines (PCAP) All-Filipino tournament.

GM Oliver Barbosa, WIM Jan Jodilyn Fronda, IM Ricky de Guzman, Narquingel Reyes and Narciso Gumila struck hardest in the rapid competitions for the Predators, who avenged a heartbreaking 9.5-11.5 setback to the Load Manna Knights in their first meeting last Jan. 23.

Barbosa defeated IM Paulo Bersamina, Fronda humbled WNM Arvie Lozano, De Guzman bested Rosauro Caunte, Reyes toppled NM Emmanuel Emperado and Gumila upset IM Barlo Nadera for San Juan’s five victories in rapid.

NM Arden Reyes halved the point with IM Jan Emmanuel Garcia as the Hubert Estrella-mentored San Juan completed an 11-3 victory over Caloocan in rapid action.

Caloocan’s lone victory in rapid came from FM Nelson Villanueva, who overwhelmed NM Michael Gotel on board six.

The Predators and the Load Manna Knights battled to a 3.5-3.5 standoff in blitz.

San Juan also won over Cagayan Kings, 17-4, to move into a three-way tie for the top spot with Laguna Heroes and Caloocan with similar 23-4 win-loss records.

In the South, Negros Kingsmen asserted their supremacy over the Palawan Queen’s Gambits, 17-4, and Toledo Trojans, 11.5-9.5, to assume the solo lead with a 24-3 record.

Leading the Kingsmen was FM Nelson Mariano, who swept WIM Shania Mae Mendoza of Palawan and Rogelio Enriquez of Toledo to earn perfect scores of six points.

The prestigious 24-team tournament organized by PCAP president Atty. Paul Elauria and chairman Michael Angelo Ong Chua, will resume with two more rounds on Wednesday.

After 27 rounds
San Juan 23 4
Caloocan 23 4
Laguna 23 4
Manila 20 7
Rizal 17 10
Pasig 14 13
Cavite 14 13
Antipolo 12 15
Isabela 9 18
Olongapo 8 18*
Quezon City 4 22*
Cagayan 4 23
Negros 24 3
Iloilo 23 4
Camarines 23 4
Zamboanga 15 12
Toledo 15 12
Lapu-Lapu 13 14
Mindoro 12 15
Cordova 9 18
Surigao 7 20
Cebu 5 22
Iriga 4 23
Palawan 3 24
* – unfinished game

Publication Source :    People's Tonight
Ed Andaya
Sports Editor - People's Tonight