Home>Entertainment>Taylor Swift Wins Big at the “MTV EMAs” 2022, Snagging Four Awards for “Best Artist,” “Best Video,” “Best Pop” and “Best Longform Video”

Taylor Swift Wins Big at the “MTV EMAs” 2022, Snagging Four Awards for “Best Artist,” “Best Video,” “Best Pop” and “Best Longform Video”

MTV EMAs Tomorrow X Together

Lisa Wins “Best K-Pop” and Seventeen Snag Two Wins, with BlackPink, BTS and Tomorrow X Together Among Winners

NEW YORK / DÜSSELDORF — Nov. 13, 2022 — Taylor Swift was the queen of the night earning four awards at the “MTV EMAs” 2022 held at the PSD Bank Dome in Düsseldorf, Germany. Hosted by Rita Ora and Taika Waititi, the live global music celebration featured electrifying performances from chart-topping artists and honored fan favorites across 20 categories. The show also featured a moving performance by Ukrainian Band Kalush Orchestra with a powerful display of support for Ukraine.

Taylor Swift took top awards including “Best Artist,” “Best Video,” “Best Pop” and “Best Longform Video” for “All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version).” Nicki Minaj was awarded “Best Song” for “Super Freaky Girl,” and “Best Hip Hop,” while Harry Styles won “Best Live.”

Show host Rita Ora won “Best Look ‘Personal Style’”, while “Video for Good” went to Sam Smith feat. Kim Petras for “Unholy.”

The “Best Collaboration” award went to David Guetta and Bebe Rexha for “I’m Good (Blue)” while Guetta also nabbed “Best Electronic,” and new EMA category “Best Metaverse Performance” went to BLACKPINK The Virtual PUBG Mobile.

Full list of winners below.

Deriving inspiration from electronic music pioneers and Düsseldorf natives, Kraftwerk, the show featured a digital vibe with lighting, graphic elements and a giant head structure. EMA hosts Rita Ora and Taikia Waititi brought the fashion and the fun with unforgettable looks and show moments.

David Guetta and Bebe Rexha opened the night performing their hit song “I’m Good (Blue)”, with Guetta DJing from a massive riser and Rexha swinging onto the stage.

Muse (“Best Rock” winners) lit up the stage performing “Will of the People” flanked by people wearing mirrored masks, parkour dancers and an explosive finale with flames and flares.

Ava Max performed “Million Dollar Baby” from a giant diamond with sparkling lighting flooding the arena.

World Stage headliners Gorillaz (“Best Alternative” winners) feat. Thundercat performed “Cracker Island” from the iconic Tonhalle music concert hall in Dusseldorf.

Stormzy performed his ballad “Fire Babe” for the first time on TV, creating an intimate show moment with kinetic lighting and special guest vocalist, Debbie.

OneRepublic performed the theme “I Ain’t Worried,” from the blockbuster film “Top Gun: Maverick,” which featured giant fighter jet afterburners and a special video intro from global superstar Tom Cruise.

GAYLE made her award show debut performing her chart-topping hit “abcdefu” in a teenage bedroom scene featuring confetti explosions.

Making his EMA debut, Lewis Capaldi performed a stripped back version of “Forget Me,” with on screen graphics that made him appear to be floating on water.

Tate McRae performed a medley of “she’s all I wanna be” and “uh oh” on a stage with dancers in four boxes.

Ukrainian band Kalush Orchestra performed a lively and poignant rendition of “Stefania” with the arena turning blue and yellow in a display of support for Ukraine.

SPINALL, Äyanna and Nasty C closed the night performing “Power” flanked by roller skaters with tracking devices that made the lights on the stage form funky patterns.

The show also featured special appearances by actor, singer and global superstar David Hasselhoff, GRAMMY-nominated singer-songwriter Julian Lennon, world-renowned model and activist Leomie Anderson, British singer-songwriter and TikTok Star Sam Ryder, German-raised model and influencer Leonie Hanne, and Canadian singer-songwriter Lauren Spencer Smith, Maxim Baldry, Luis Gerardo Méndez and Miguel Ángel Silvestre. Rising West Philadelphia rapper Armani White performed his hit song “BILLIE EILISH.” during the EMA red carpet show.

This year’s “MTV EMA Generation Change Award” honorees are three resilient Ukrainian women – Lina Deshvar, Anna Kutova and Anfisa Yakovina – who are fighting for the care and rights of those impacted by the humanitarian crisis in Ukraine. Their work includes providing shelter for refugees, evacuating and caring for families raising children, adolescents and young people with disabilities, providing art and group therapy for women and families who have been separated from their families and more. The recipients were honored during the MTV EMA Red Carpet show which was broadcast live on MTV globally and streamed on MTVEMA.com.

Additionally, MTV celebrated all the local EMA winners from different regions around the globe from Spain to Latin America, to Germany and Africa, with TOMORROW X TOGETHER winning “Best Asia Act”. Watch their acceptance speech here on @mtvasia’s Instagram.



  • Best Song – Nicki Minaj – Super Freaky Girl
  • Best Video – Taylor Swift – All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version)
  • Best Artist – Taylor Swift
  • Best Collaboration – David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – I’m Good (Blue)
  • Best Live – Harry Styles
  • Best Pop – Taylor Swift
  • Best New – SEVENTEEN
  • Best K-Pop – Lisa
  • Best Latin- Anitta
  • Best Electronic – David Guetta
  • Best Hip Hop – Nicki Minaj
  • Best Rock – Muse
  • Best Alternative – Gorillaz
  • Best R&B – Chlӧe
  • Best Longform – Taylor Swift – All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version)
  • Video For Good – Sam Smith Unholy (ft. Kim Petras)
  • Biggest Fans – BTS
  • Best Push – SEVENTEEN
  • Best Metaverse Performance – BLACKPINK The Virtual PUBG Mobile
  • Best Look ‘Personal Style’ – Rita Ora
  • Generation Change – Lina Deshvar, Anna Kutova and Anfisa Yakovina



One of the biggest global music awards shows of the year that celebrates the hottest artists from around the world, the MTV EMAs bring music fans a unique, multi-platform experience across MTV’s global network in more than 170 countries. Follow @MTVEMA on Facebook, Twitter, TikTok and Instagram, and join the conversation with #MTVEMA. Bruce Gillmer and Richard Godfrey are Executive Producers. Debbie Phillips and Chloe Mason are Producers.

For artwork, press assets and further information please visit press.mtvema.com. To stay in tune with all things EMA, follow the show on Instagram, Twitter, TikTok and Facebook and follow the social conversation using #MTVEMA @MTVEMA.

Journal Online
A collection of noteworthy information on various topics from the Philippines and the rest of the world.