Home>News>Events>The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation​ Unveils Brand New Logos and Taglines​

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation​ Unveils Brand New Logos and Taglines​

RMAF Logo with Tagline

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) unveiled two brand new logos as it gears up for its 65th anniversary celebrations in 2023. As the Foundation further emphasizes its roots as an Asian Award organization, the two new logos are reflections of its role in transforming the human condition in the region and the rest of the world.​

The first logo revealed is for the Foundation. Established through a generous endowment by the Rockefeller Brothers Fund, the Foundation is synonymous to the Greatness of Spirit of its namesake, Ramon Magsaysay, the 7th President of the Philippines. The refreshed logo bears Magsaysay’s iconic image set in a simple typeface. The Foundation has also adopted a new tagline, “Transforming Asia. Inspiring the world.”, to perfectly capture its mission of celebrating transformative leadership in the region.​

The Foundation has also updated the logo for the Ramon Magsaysay Award. Globally known as Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, its logo is enhanced to mirror the unique brand of servant leadership espoused by the Ramon Magsaysay Laureates.​

RMAF Medallion
Ramon Magsaysay Award Logo

In a statement, RMAF Chairman Aurelio R. Montinola III shared, “The Foundation is undergoing some very exciting transitions. As custodians of one of Asia’s strongest legacy brands, we need to ensure that the Foundation and the Award will remain relevant for future generations. Our brand refresh captures the bold new directions we are taking in celebrating Greatness of Spirit in Asia.”​

The Foundation collaborated with Philippine-based creative agency Grupo Agatep for its brand refresh. Norman Agatep, President and Managing Director of Grupo Agatep, shared, “The inspiration will always be our beloved President Ramon Magsaysay, his legacy, and his Greatness of Spirit. We embodied all these by borrowing elements from logos past and by melding them together in a more contemporary fashion to appeal to audiences today.”​

RMAF President Susan B. Afan said, “We are truly excited for this new phase of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation. Starting with our refreshed website, logos and taglines, we are simultaneously simplifying and modernizing our identity while still paying homage to our unique heritage as an Asian organization. This opens up many opportunities to create incredible new energies as we continue making Asia a better and kinder place for all.”​

Beginning 1 August 2022, the new logos will appear on the Foundation’s website, rmaward.asia, and all of its official social media channels. The new logos will likewise be used for the 64th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season this year.​

The 64th Ramon Magsaysay Awards Festival Season will commence on 31 August, the birth anniversary of Pres. Magsaysay. ​The Foundation will announce the 2022 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees via an online global event.​

About the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation​

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation was created in 1957, the year the Philippines lost in a plane crash a President who was well-loved for his simplicity and humility, his passion for justice, particularly for the poor, and his advancement of human dignity. Among the many friends and admirers of the late President around the world were the Rockefeller brothers.​ With the concurrence of the Philippine government, the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund (RBF) established​ the Ramon Magsaysay Award to honor President Magsaysay’s memory and perpetuate his example of integrity​ in public service and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society. ‍​

Supported with a generous endowment from the RBF, the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation was organized in Manila in May 1957, with seven prominent Filipinos as founding members of the foundation’s board of trustees. The Foundation has since implemented the Ramon Magsaysay Award program, pursuing the objective of honoring greatness of spirit in selfless service to the people of Asia. The first Ramon Magsaysay Awards were given on August 31, 1958 to five outstanding individuals working in India, Indonesia, Philippines, Taiwan, and Sri Lanka, and a Philippine-based organization.​

About the Ramon Magsaysay Award​

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia. The Award is named after the esteemed 7th Philippine president who espoused transformative leadership and greatness of spirit.​

In the past six decades, the Ramon Magsaysay Award has been bestowed to 340 outstanding men, women and organizations whose selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most challenging problems of human development.​

The trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation annually select the recipients of the Ramon Magsaysay Award.​ The Ramon Magsaysay Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image​ of President Ramon Magsaysay.

Journal Online
A collection of noteworthy information on various topics from the Philippines and the rest of the world.