Home>Sports>Basketball>Vis-Min kicks out Siquijor

Vis-Min kicks out Siquijor

Vismin Super Cup


This was the final decision of the Pilipinas Vis-Min Super Cup organizers on the entire Siquijor Mystics team after it was concluded that they threw their game against the ARQ Builders-Lapu Lapu City at the Alcantara Sports and Civic Center last Wednesday.

The formal announcement was made by Vis-Min Cup Chief Operations Officer Rocky Chan in a video statement made only one day after the incident.

Chan said Siquijor and several players from Lapu-Lapu City have committed “disgraceful acts to the sport we love the most.

Kicked out of the league are Siquijor players Joshua Alcober, Ryan Buenafe, Vincent Tangcay, Jan Penaflor, Gene Bellaza, Michael Calomot, Frederick Rodriguez, Jopet Quiro, Isagani Gooc, Miguel Castellano, Juan Aspiras, Peter Buenafe, and Michael Sereno.

Also kicked out of the league are head coach Joel Palapal and his staff.

Chan also said all the games played by Siquijor will be erased from the standings. The Mystics lost to KCS-Mandaue City on opening day before defeating Dumaguet Warriorse the following day.

Also admonished were players and the coaching staff of Lapu-Lapu.

Rendell Senining, the wingman who attempted left- and right-handed free throws in one trip to the line, was suspended for the season and fined P15,000.

Lapu-Lapu coach Francis Auquico and players Jercules Tangkay, Reed Juntilla, Monbert Arong, Dawn Ochea, and Ferdinand Lusdoc were suspended for the rest of the first round.

Auquico was also fined P30,000, while the players were fined P15,000 each.

Auquico’s coaching staff — Jerry Abuyabor, Alex Cainglet, John Carlo Nuyles, Hamilton Tundag, and Roger Justin Potpot — were fined P20,000 tabs.

This is a clear statement of the Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup. Any deliberate actions by any player and coach is not tolerated in this league,” said Chan.