Home>News>Provincial>Duterte-Duterte tandem in 2022 ‘launched’ in Pangasinan

Duterte-Duterte tandem in 2022 ‘launched’ in Pangasinan

BAYAMBANG, PANGASINAN — Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador S. Panelo launched here the idea of a possible team-up of Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte and President Rodrigo Roa Duterte in the coming 2022 Presidential elections.

In a dinner-fellowship hosted by Mayor Cesar T. Quiambao and attended by prominent Pangasinan political leaders on January 23, 2021, Panelo emphasized that the Duterte-Duterte tandem has no legal impediment.

Panelo said President Duterte can still run for vice president when his term expires in 2022. “The issue here is the continuity of Duterte leadership,” Panelo pointed out.

Panelo explained that President Duterte exhibited a strong political will to implement economic reforms and clean government in the country like his campaign against illegal drugs, corruption, criminality, insurgency and poverty.

That is why up to this time, our President consistently enjoys very high approval and trust ratings,” he added.

Panelo expressed confidence that the daughter-father tandem will be acceptable to the Filipinos. “This is no longer new to us. The daughter of President Diosdado Macapagal became President in the person of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. The son of President Corazon Aquino, in the person of Benigno Aquino III became also our President,” the chief legal counsel further explained.

Panelo was in Bayambang town as guest speaker during the public forum dubbed as “Rebolusyong Duterte. Revolutionary Government” held at the Municipal Event Center.

Among the Pangasinan leaders who expressed their strong support to the Duterte-Duterte tandem in the coming 2022 elections include Presidential Adviser for Northern Luzon Secretary Raul L. Lambino, 5th District Rep. Ramon ‘Mon-Mon’ Guico III, Abono Partylist Rep. Conrad Estrella III, Vice Governor Mark Lambino, Board Members Von Mark Mendoza (2nd District), Vici Ventanilla (3rd District), Louie Sison (5th District), former Rep. and Alaminos City Mayor Arthur Celeste, Mayors Roldan Sagles (Aguilar), Anthony Penulliar (Mapandan), Joel delos Santos (Sta. Barbara), Martin Raul Sison II (Urbiztondo), Noel Geslani (Malasiqui), Rosita Rafael (Natividad), Julio ‘Rammy’ Parayno (Urdaneta City), Sangguniang Bayan Members of Bayambang, and other civic leaders.