Eastern Visayas cry for dev’t will now be heard

“The trust given by the public to Tingog is the reason why we are here. We cannot afford to disappoint them. Thus, with the support of the President Rodrigo Duterte administration and the public, Tingog will do its share to realize its vision for a progressive Eastern Visayas,” said Romualdez after Tingog ranked 18th out of 134 party-list groups with 387,019 votes as of Thursday.

Why drug-linked politicos won

Representative Vicente Veloso of Leyte’s Third District secured another three-year term while Subic Mayor Jefferson “Jay” Khonghun won over reelectionist Zambales Vice Governor Angel Magsaysay-Cheng. Others opted not to run including former police official and now Daanbantayan, Cebu Mayor Vicente Loot.

Año urges smooth turnover of powers in local government units

Members of the team are department heads of the local government unit (LGU) and a DILG representative such as DILG provincial director in case of provincial government, DILG city director in case of city government, or DILG municipal local government operations officer in case of municipal government. There should also be one representative from a civil society organization or people’s organization.

Andanar hits US comic’s satire on Duterte

“We find it desperate that, on the eve of the Philippine midterm elections, the vociferous detractors of President Rodrigo Roa Duterte would use an American comedy show, aired on Netflix, to demonize the chief executive and his government in its episode entitled ‘Brazil, Corruption and the Rainforest’ before the global audience,” Andanar said in a statement yesterday.

Davao folks make Sara cry

“I am humbled as I bow. I am not a person who cries easily but when it was definite that Davao City delivered a 12-0 vote for Senators of HNP, the tears flowed and the sobbing followed,” President Rodrigo Duterte’s daughter told her 389,000 Instagram followers.

Ex-PNP generals win big in polls

With 96.17 percent of election returns already transmitted as of 7:30 a.m. yesterday, Dela Rosa, a member of Philippine Military Academy ‘Sinagtala’ Class of 1986 will become the 2nd ex-PNP chief to become a Philippine senator with more than 18 million votes, the 1st being Sen. Panfilo ‘Ping’ M. Lacson of PMA ‘Matatag’ Class of 1971. Dela Rosa appears to be the 5th placer in the race for the 12-man Senate seat.

Yes to good governance -- Romualdez

This was asserted by Philippine Constitution Association (Philconsa) President Martin Romualdez, returning Leyte first district congressman, after nine senatorial bets endorsed by President Duterte and re-elected Davao City Mayor and Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP) chairperson Sara Duterte gave clear indication of winning the 2019 midterm elections based on partial and unofficial results.

New age of PH-Japan seen

HERALDING a new age of Philippine-Japanese friendship, Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo and Ambassador of Japan to the Philippines His Excellency Koji Haneda celebrated on Tuesday the ascension of Emperor Naruhito to the Chrysanthemum Throne.