Home>Sports>Other Sports>Top Mindanao players see action in reg’l chessfest

Top Mindanao players see action in reg’l chessfest

THE best and the brightest players from Mindanao take the limelight with the staging of the first Mindanao Inter-Regional Chess Championship on.Oct 24-25.

Six teams representing the different regions in Mindanao will participate in the unique, two-day online competition which offers a guaranteed cash prize of P100,000.

Lito Dormitorio, chairman of the organizing committee, said part of the prize fund will go to former Chess Olympians from Mindanao

“This is another exciting competition featuring top players from Mindanao,” said Dormitorio, whose team SOX Warriors is fully supported and funded by Mayor Eliordo U. Ogena of Koronadal City, the Regional Center of Region 12.

The participating teams are:

1.Region 9 Zamboanga Caballeros (Team Captain: Prof Rey Reyes).

2. Region 10 X-Men (Team Captain: Fr. Vic Arellano).

3. Region 11 Davao Chess Eagles (Team Captain: IA James Infiesto)

4. Region 12 SOX Warriors (Team Captain:Lito Dormitorio)

5. Region 13 CARAGA Miners (Team Captain:Rey Urbiztondo).

6. Cotabato City/BARMM Kutawato Vanguards (Team Captain: Salvador Navarro).

Team Composition will be 10 executive players with five reserves and 10 regular Players with five reserves.

Format is single-round robin with random chess to be played on first day and standard the last day

Among the notable players:

Region 9 — NM Zulfikar Sali (Executive) and FM Jesse Noel Sale (regular).

Region 10 –NM Levi Mercado, NCFP Sec Gen Cliburn Orbe (executive) and IM Richieliu Salcedo (regular).

Region 11 — NM Jonathan Tan (executive) and IM Oliver Dimakiling (regular).

Region 12 — NM Reggie Olay (executive) and IM John Marvin Miciano (regular).

Region 13 — FM Cesar Caturla (executive) and FM Vince Alaan, WFM Allaney Doroy (regular).

Cotabato City/BARMM — NM Bob Jones Liwagon (executive).

Publication Source :    People's Tonight
Ed Andaya
Sports Editor - People's Tonight