Home>News>Nation>PH includes Hungary, UAE in travel ban

PH includes Hungary, UAE in travel ban

THE Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) late Friday night said travel restrictions imposed on some countries with the new COVID variant will be extended until 31 January 2021.

At the same time, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Hungary were also added to the list that are subject to travel restrictions.

Based on Memoranda from the Executive Secretary on the regulation of entry for travelers from or transiting through areas that have reported incidence of the new COVID-19 variant, the public is informed of additional measures pertaining to the extension of the travel restrictions to 31 January 2021, and the inclusion of the United Arab Emirates and Hungary among countries subject to travel restrictions effective 0001H, 17 January 2021 Manila time until 31 January 2021, as directed by Malacañang Palace Memorandum issued on 15 January 2021,” the DFA advisory said.

The DFA reiterated its earlier advisories regarding the travel restriction:

All overseas Filipinos are reminded of the limited quarantine facilities in place and are thus strongly urged to reconsider travel plans to the Philippines for the duration of the travel restrictions, which is set to end on 31 January 2021, without prejudice to the extension of such period upon approval of the IATF.

Those entering the Philippines from, or who have been to, the affected countries and jurisdiction in the last 14 days are also reminded that they will be required to undergo and complete a strict mandatory 14-day quarantine at a DOH-approved facility, regardless of negative RT-PCR result.

For the period of the restrictions, foreign nationals who have directly come from or who have entered the concerned countries and jurisdiction within the last 14 days from date of arrival in the Philippines will temporarily be restricted from entering the Philippines. This applies notwithstanding previous visa status, past IATF approval of exemptions and relation to Filipino citizens.

For transits through airports in concerned countries/jurisdiction, please be guided by more specific regulations here: Memorandum from the Executive Secretary On Additional Measures Relative to the Sars-Cov-2 Variant Detected in the United Kingdom | GOVPH.

For rules on unaccompanied minor children, please be guided by more specific regulations here: https://bit.ly/38qMr7d, and its amendments detailed here: https://bit.ly/39CD2bV

The DFA called for all travelers to the country to carefully reconsider their travel plans, including postponing their trips until after the end of the travel restrictions to avoid personal inconvenience and possible additional expenses as well as help prevent the incidence of the new COVID-19 variant in the country.

It also reminded travelers to always check ahead of travel dates with their airlines before departure or before booking a ticket as information published could change at any time.

Also subject to travel restrictions are” the United Kingdom, Denmark, Ireland, Japan, Australia, Israel, The Netherlands, Switzerland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lebanon, Singapore, Sweden, South Korea, South Africa, Canada, Spain, United States, Portugal, India, Finland, Norway, Jordan, Brazil, Austria, Pakistan, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Oman, the People’s Republic of China, including Hong Kong, SAR.