Home>News>Provincial>5 CPP-NPA-NDF rebs surrender in Ecija

5 CPP-NPA-NDF rebs surrender in Ecija

CABANATUAN CITY — The Nueva Ecija Provincial Task Force on Ending Local Communist Armed Conflict (NE-PTF-ELCAC) scored another headway in the fight against insurgency following the surrender of five New People’s Army rebels and a militia member in Bongabon and San Jose City on Wednesday.

In Bongabon, Col. Jaime O. Santos, provincial police director identified the rebel surrenderer as Ka Rene, 51, of Purok 2, Bgy. Santor, who yielded to Lt. Col. Alexander C. Aurelio, commander of the 1st Provincial Mobile Force Company at their base camp.

The ex-rebel carriedan improvised . 38 caliber pistol and a rifle grenade during his surrender.

Santos said the rebel surrenderer formerly worked under the command of Ka Robert, who used to operate in the boundaries of Nueva Ecija and Tarlac.

Aurelio said Ka Rene is now under custody of his command for safekeeping. The rebel returnee will be endorsed to avail of the government’s assistance program called Enhanced Comprehensive Local Integrated Program (E-CLIP).

In San Jose City, four rebel personalities and a militia ng bayan member who used to operate in the provinces of Nueva Ecija, Tarlac and Zambales yielded to police and army authorities after a series of negotiations in line with the agenda of PTF-ELCAC initiatives.

Santos said the five also surrendered a cal. 45 caliber pistol and cal.9mm to city police head Lt. Col. Criselda Y. De Guzman and 2nd PFMC head Lt. Col. Marco Dadez.

Santos said the police, military and all the government instrumentalities and stakeholders will continue to work together to encourage the continuous surrender of CTG (communist terrorist members) in Nueva Ecija.

This is a clear manifestation of the effectiveness of the “whole of nation approach to end insurgency” under Executive Order 70 of President Duterte which institutionalizes the NTF-ELCAC and its implementation in the region under Brig. Gen. Valeriano T. De Leon,” said Santos.